Review: Calico by Callie Hart

CalicoTitle: Calico
Author: Callie Hart
Rating: ★★★★★
Genre: Contemporary Romance

SYNOPSIS

“I couldn’t have forgotten about you even if I’d tried. The seas could have frozen over. The heavens could have come crashing down to earth. Time could have stood still, and I would never have been able to cleanse myself of you.” 

CoralieTwelve years ago, I ran to stay alive.

Port Royal, South Carolina, was my home. I was born there. I fell in love there. And I nearly died there. I never thought I’d go back. Now, after so many years, I have to return to bury the man who made my life a living hell. Some nights, I used to cry myself to sleep, praying my father would die. Other nights were different. Other nights, there was him.

Callan Cross.

My first confidante. My first kiss. My first love. My first everything: Callan was the glue that held me together when everything else was falling apart. He was my savior. He was there for me whenever I needed him…Until he wasn’t.Every night, I’ve seen the love of my life in my sleep. I just never thought I’d have to face him again.

Callan 

Twelve years ago, I f*#@ed up big time.

Living life through a camera lens is sometimes easier than dealing with it head on. Scratch that. It’s always easier. For over a decade, I’ve been a master of my art, taking photographs all over the world. Yet despite all of the countries I’ve visited, the amazing things I’ve seen, the beautiful women I’ve screwed, my heart has remained in pieces.

Coralie’s the only woman I’ve ever loved, will ever love. And I’m determined to show her that we’re meant to be together. Even if it means unearthing the bones of the past in the process.

A lifetime and a thousand miles have stood between us.
Now, there’s no length of time I won’t wait, no distance I won’t travel, in order to make her mine.

*** STANDALONE contemporary romance, with hints of darkness. This novel contains serious themes of violence that some readers might find uncomfortable*** 

REVIEW

This is the first book I’ve read by this author. I was drawn in by the cover and the blurb. I knew I had to read it.

First off, I love their names. Callan and Coralie. So unique, along with the story-line. It’s been awhile since I’ve read a book that just hooked me and I couldn’t put it down.

Coralie, that poor girl. She went through so much as a young lady. Always walking on eggshells and trying to diffuse situations, she never should have been in. But being the victim of abuse for so long she didn’t know how else to handle it, or who she could talk to.

Callan, This man, even when they were in high school. He sounded perfect. Said all the right things to Coralie, to help bring her out of her shell, and help her to live.

After a heartbreaking situation Coralie leaves. It’s the only way she can live. Now, years later she must return home, rather she wants to or not. And even after her fathers death, he is still taunting her. Making her do what he wants. What Coralie wasn’t expecting when she went back home was for Callan to be there. She kept up with him over the years, and knew he was in NYC. So why would he be back in that crap of a town. Coralie can’t handle the stress and tries to stay away from Callan. However Callan being the man he is, and knowing what he wants, he will not leave Coralie alone.

I was drawn in from the beginning to end. I can’t tell you what it was about these characters. But I was enamored with them. I was surprised and felt so many emotions run through me, over the life they could have had, what was stolen from them, the lost 10 years, I wanted them to over come their past to be able to have the future they deserved. This book was such a raw, emotional read. I’m happy I moved this up in my TBR. I was able to connect with the characters, and feel their emotions, the plot was carried out well, and I even downright cried at one point. There were a few editing issues, I would had liked to see fixed, a few misspellings things like that however, it did not hinder me away from the story. And I still loved it, and yes I recommend you picking this one up.

BUY LINKS

Amazon US:
Amazon UK:
iBooks: 

Leave a Reply

