Review: Hostile Witness by Rebecca Forster

witness
Title: Hostile Witness (A Josie Bates Thriller)
Author: Rebecca Forster
Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5)
Genre: Legal Thriller

SYNOPSIS

When sixteen-year-old Hannah Sheraton is arrested for the murder of her step-grandfather, the chief justice of the California Supreme court, her distraught mother turns to her old college roommate, Josie Bates, for help. Josie, once a hot-shot criminal defense attorney, left the fast track behind for a small practice in Hermosa Beach, California. But Hannah Sheraton intrigues her and, when the girl is charged as an adult, Josie cannot turn her back. But the deeper she digs the more Josie realizes that politics, the law and family relationships have created a combustible and dangerous situation. When the horrible truth of the murder is uncovered could save Hannah Sheraton or destroy them both.

REVIEW

I love listening to thrillers while I’m at work. I have to say this is my first legal thriller, and I enjoyed it.

Josie bates stopped being a defense attorney after a case went wrong, and when her old college friend comes to her asking for help, Josie can’t say no. Josie finds herself working a twisting case. All evidence is pointing to her client’s guilt. However Josie knows, her client is innocent, she just has to prove her innocence beyond a reasonable doubt. But when her clients own mother is pushing for her to take a plea deal instead of going to trial, it proves to be a difficult task.

The mom is quite superficial, which got on my nerves, especially since it was her daughters life at steak, and half the time I felt like even then, she didn’t care. She was more worried about what was happening to herself rather than her daughter.

The story kept at a fast pace and kept me fascinated with what was to come.I did start guessing with the whole who did it, and I love it when I keep guessing til the end. I did get this one figured out early on, I would had liked to see something with a little more twists, where I didn’t guess so fast. Even though I “thought” I knew who did it, I was still captivated with the story, and even had a mouth dropping no way, moment. SO even though I did guess a lot of what was going to happen and a bit predictable, I enjoyed the story line itself. Good afternoon read! 3.5 stars

BUY LINKS

CURRENTLY FREE

AMAZON

ADD AUDIBLE 1.99



 

Leave a Reply

